ALABAMA — Alabama Senate candidate Doug Jones defeated Democrat Doug Jones in Tuesday’s runoff election for a U.S. Senate seat.

Jones defeated Moore by about 2 percentage points, 53.5 percent to 47.9 percent, in the state’s special election for Alabama’s U.s.

Senate, according to the Alabama Secretary of State’s office.

Jones’ victory in the runoff is the second straight victory for Jones in Alabama, a historically Republican state that went for the GOP in last year’s election.

Jones had hoped to win the Senate seat by capturing the state as the last vestige of the former governor’s failed bid for a third term.

Moore, a former state Supreme Court justice, has been a staunch opponent of abortion and has argued that the U. of A. should be renamed the U of M.

Jones won the state by 535 votes, while Moore won by 2,945 votes.

In the Senate race, Republican Roy Moore beat Democrat Doug Moore by a razor-thin margin of 2,000 votes in the special election to fill the seat vacated by Attorney General Jeff Sessions.

Jones, a staunch conservative who is a former U. S. attorney, was defeated by Jones by just over 2,500 votes, according the Alabama secretary of state’s office and the Republican Party of Alabama.

Jones was one of only four Republican Senate candidates who received more than 10 percent of the vote in Tuesday night’s runoff.

The Republican candidate for Senate, State Rep. Matt Schaefer, won a tight victory over Democrat David Simpson, according a poll released by the Montgomery Advertiser and Fox News Channel on Wednesday morning.

The race to fill Sessions’ seat was also tight in the 2016 election, when Democrats had a large majority of seats in the Alabama Senate.

Moore, the attorney general in the U,S.

Department of Justice under President Donald Trump, won his race by about 3 percentage points over Simpson, the Fox News poll found.

The runoff was Moore’s first since losing to Moore in the GOP primary in January, but he did not formally concede the race until Wednesday morning and was not officially declared the winner until after polls closed.