Texas politics has changed.

It’s time to revisit a contested presidential election that began in 2016.

Read moreThe state is one of six states that have yet to hold a statewide vote on the 2020 presidential race.

Texas voters could have their say on who will succeed President Donald Trump.

In 2018, Republican presidential candidate Ted Cruz won Texas by 7 percentage points over Democrat Hillary Clinton.

But Texas has voted in three different presidential elections.

In 2008, Democratic candidate Barack Obama beat Republican candidate Mitt Romney in the state by 10 points.

Trump, who lost Texas by 14 points, was re-elected by an even larger margin.

In 2012, Texas became the first state to hold an election under strict early voting rules, making it easier for voters to cast ballots in advance of Election Day.

The last presidential election Texas held was in 1984.

That year, Republican Ronald Reagan won the state’s Electoral College votes by 4,827 votes.

Trump won the Lone Star State by 9 points in the 2016 election.

The 2020 presidential vote in Texas is shaping up to be a close race.

Polls suggest Democrat Bernie Sanders is on track to win the state, but he could lose the state to a third-party candidate.

Clinton, the Democratic nominee, won the popular vote in the election by nearly 3 million votes, or roughly one-third of the vote.

Sanders won Texas’ electoral votes by 546, or about 1 percent.